I know it’s been quite some time since I’ve made a post to this blog.  With tax season and all the garbage that has been going on in Washington, I just wasn’t “excited” to make a post; however, the IRS’s finally adopting a “Taxpayer Bill of Rights” inspired me to make this post.

As I said, there has been so much “happening” in Washington, it’s almost as if Congress can’t get its hands around one dilemma before another one pops up.  Fast-N-Furious; Benghazi; DOJ targeting reporters; Law changes without congressional oversight; etc., etc, etc.  When will it all end?  Personally, I don’t think it will until the current President is out of office; however, one thing did emerge yesterday that was significant enough to make a post: The IRS’s FINALLY adopting a “Taxpayer Bill of Rights“; a 10 point provision code, similiar to the U.S. Constitution’s Bill Of Rights.  The IRS Taxpayer Bill of Rights are:

  1. The Right to be Informed.
  2. The Right to Quality Service.
  3. The Right to Pay No More than the Correct Amount of Tax.
  4. The Right to Challenge the IRS’s Position and Be Heard.
  5. The Right to Appeal an IRS Decision in an Independent Forum.
  6. The Right to Finality.
  7. The Right to Privacy.
  8. The Right to Confidentiality.
  9. The Right to Retain Representation.
  10. The Right to a Fair and Just Tax System.

All of the above seem to make sense, and probably everyone out there would assume that we as taxpayers would have these right, it just wasn’t ever put out there in a clear, concise manner.  As of yesterday, now it is.  The expanded Bill of Rights can be reviewed at: www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p1.pdf